Information Technology (IT) industry consists of utilization of computing via hardware, software, services, and infrastructure to create, store, exchange, and leverage information in its various forms to accomplish any number of objectives. IT industry covers it business aspects like; commerce, production, communication, etc. 

This guide gives basic information on databases which covers major aspects of IT industry such as; Industry profile, companies in the industry, market research, statistics on various IT related indicators, etc.
CMIE-Industry Outlook


CMIE Industry Outlook provides information on Indian Industries.Information Technology industry covers Computer software & ITES
sub-industries. It provides data on analysis, annual financials, quarterly financials, stock returns, CapEx and forecast.

Coverage: last 10-20 years.
 
Log - in CMIE Industry Outlook >> Click on Non-financial Services >> Select Services (Other than financial)>> Information Technology

CRISIL Research


Crisil provides real-time access to data on 70 odd industries with the latest analysis and news. Industry information includes; industry analysis, opinion, data and statistics, player profiles, impact analysis, etc. on IT and related services. Also Crisil provides Theme based analysis on current trend in the industry.

Coverage: last 5 Years
 
Log-in / Register to Crisil >> Click on Industry >> Technology, Media and Telecommunication


 
NASSCOM Member Directory


NASSCOM provides an online directory of the Indian IT and BPO companies with  short profile. It also provides different reports, analysis, rankings, current trend & insight on IT & BPO industries.

Access: Login required, write for credentials: reference@iima.a.cin 
 
Click on NASSCOM Member Directory>> Log-in >> Click on Resource Centre


 
MarketLine Advantage


Marketline's industry profiles provide information on market research across all industries at regional and country level. Industry profile & guide includes forecasts for market, five force analysis, market value, volume, segmentation data, macroeconomic indicator & competitor analysis, leading companies in the sector/industry. It covers 4,000 industry profiles spanning 215+ countries worldwide.

Coverage:   5-year historical and 5-year forecast market
 
Click on MarketLine Advantage >> Click on Industries >> Select Technology and Services


 
Search Research Papers
Search Library Print Book/s
Reference/ Research Assistance
Thomson Reuters Eikon


It cover companies of IT services; each company reports included annual report, financial information, M&A, board details, credit ratings and etc.  

Coverage: 1999 to 2020 F
 
Thomson Reuters Eikon (Available only in Library) >> Login >>My app >> Industry new >> Industry >> Technology >> Software & IT services

Datastream


It provides access to select companies based on their industry or sector which includes historical, global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, futures, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data. 

Coverage: Historical equity data is available from 1973, though coverage varies from country to country.
 
Datastream >> Equities >> Choose required country >> Select the desired sector from the list 

Bloomberg


Bloomberg industry provides technology services which includes IT services, information services and payment & data processor as sub-sector. Each industry includes macro and industry factors as well as company-level operating, financial and valuation statistics.
 
Bloomberg >> for search industry group ICS >> Consumer services >> Educational services

CMIE ProwessIQ


ProwessIQ allows to access companies based on their industry which covers 1370 no. of Indian based IT companies data.

Coverage: 1990 to present
 
Prowess IQ >> Select companies in pre-defined sets >> All industries >> Non-financial>> >> Services (other than financial) >> Information technology >> Send to new OSC >> New outputs >> Continue

EMIS Intelligence (ISI Emerging Markets - Asia)


This database covers under information sector information services industries which also provide access to view company by industry wise. It offers competitors, financial statements, equity charts, annual report, ratings, news and etc. of all companies.

Coverage: last 15 years 
 
Open EMIS Intelligence (ISI Emerging Markets - Asia) >> Click on Industry Analysis >> Search or Select Industry >>Information >> Companies




 
MarketLine Advantage


MarketLine offers companies in sector/industry wise which covers information technology sector's companies as well. Each company profile includes profile consists of SWOT analysis, business information, competitive landscape, market share and etc.

Coverage:   5-year historical and 5-year forecast market
 
Click on MarketLine Advantage >> Click on Industries >> Select Technology and Services >> Select Companies

Dion INSIGHT


Dion INSIGHT covers 260+ Industrial Sectors. The coverage includes industry framework, domestics scenarios, markets for products, demand trends, product pricing, government regulations, financial performance of major players and their market positions. moreover it provides tools for compare industry, companies, etc.

Coverage: Last 6 years
 
Click Dion INSIGHT >> Click on Research >> Industry Data >> Select Industry 

Capitaline Plus


The industry module in Capitaline database provides 300+ industries' aggregate data of all companies in one industry in one screen. Which includes 100+ companies in Infotech/Database & IT/BPO industries. Capitaline provides industry overview, financial infomation, ratios, etc. with historical coverage. one can perform comparative analysis of industries and companies using "screener" tool.

Coverage:  Last 10 years.
 
Click on CAPITALINE >> Select Industry >> Select Industry Name e.g. Infotech/Database

Search Research Papers
Search Library Print Book/s
Reference/ Research Assistance
Gartner
Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services


Frost and Sullivan-Growth partnership service covers industry Information & Communication technology. It provides economic research and analysis, technical insights, market insights, financial benchmarking & analysis, etc. on IT Services & Application.  It is useful for the students and professionals in strategy and market analysis.

Coverage: 2000 - present
 
Open Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services>> Click on Browse >> Select Industry >> Information & Communication Tech.

WARC Database


The database covers IT topics and provides information on global marketing strategy insight, leading advertising trends, case studies, research reports, company profiles, news, etc. Covers information on marketing; advertising and media research drawn from 50 respected industry sources.

Coverage: 1965 - 2017
 

 
EMIS Intelligence (ISI Emerging Markets - Asia)


This database covers under information sector are publishing industries, including software publishing, and both traditional publishing and publishing exclusively on the Internet; the motion picture and sound recording industries; the broadcasting industries, including traditional broadcasting and those broadcasting exclusively over the Internet; the telecommunications industries; Web search portals, data processing industries, and the information services industries.

Coverage: last 15 years 
 
Open EMIS Intelligence (ISI Emerging Markets - Asia) >> Click on Industry Analysis >> Search or Select Industry >> Information


 
Search Research Papers
Search Library Print Book/s
Reference/ Research Assistance
Bloomberg


Bloomberg's data library module offers company-level operating, financial and valuation statistics. The coverage includes market share, macro, industry, company, earnings, valuation, credit, offshore, government IT and contributors of IT services sector.

Coverage: From 2011
 
Bloomberg >> for search industry type BI >> Technology services >> IT services >> Data library

Thomson Reuters Eikon


Thomson reuters database provides access to historical financial data which includes time series data, financial instruments, securities, commodity prices and financial indicators on industries.

Coverage: 1999 to 2020 F
 
Thomson Reuters Eikon (Available only in Library) >> Login >>My app >> Industry new >> Industry >> Technology >> Software & IT services

Datastream


Datastream povides company, financial and economic data of software & computer services which contains equity data, market indices, economics data, fixed income securities and associated indices, commodities, and derivatives data.

Coverage: Historical equity data is available from 1973, though coverage varies from country to country.
 
Datastream >> Equities >> Choose required country >> Select the desired sector from the list 

Dion INSIGHT


Dion INSIGHT provides company wise statistics which covers financial performance of company, equity data, market data and etc., in quarterly, half yearly and annual base.

Coverage: Last 6 years
 
Click Dion INSIGHT >> Click on Research >> Industry Data >> Select Industry 

CMIE Industry Outlook


CMIE Industry Outlook provides information on Indian Industries which provides data on analysis, annual financials, quarterly financials, stock returns, CapEx and forecast. The IT industry covers computer software and ITES industries.

Coverage: last 10-20 years.
 
Log - in CMIE Industry Outlook >> Click on Non-financial Services >> Select Services (Other than financial)>> Information Technology

EMIS Intelligence (ISI Emerging Markets - Asia)


Statistics of information industries cover major indicators such as IT market values, sales, revenues & expenditures, industry value, etc.

Coverage: last 15 years 
 
Open EMIS Intelligence (ISI Emerging Markets - Asia) >> Click on Industry Analysis >> Search or Select Industry >> Information >> Statistics



 
CRISIL Research


Data and statsistics part of Crisil covers variety of data on IT industry, which inculdes year wise export revenue, key financial indicators, IT wages, etc.

Coverage: last 5 Years
 
Log-in / Register to Crisil >> Click on Industry >> Technology, Media and Telecommunication 


 
Search Research Papers
Search Library Print Book/s
Reference/ Research Assistance

Loading ...

Search Research Papers
Search Library Print Book/s
Reference/ Research Assistance