Introduction

The Vikram Sarabhai Library has a vast collection of various types of resources including; books, databases, e-journals, e-books, etc. In order to make these resources accessible in a user-convenient manner the library has developed a subject guide. The attempt is to develop subject specific list of resources available in the library. With the help of the subject guide the users would be able to easily navigate, search and retrieve information based on their individual information needs. Currently the subject guide covers information and statistics on company, industry and socio-economic indicators. For more insights explore our Subject Guide.

Expand/hide all

Guide Collections

  • Company Information

    This subject guide highlights resources which are relevant to the company information seekers. We have covered the topics like; company SWOT reports, annual report, IPO/stock market data, mergers & acquisitions, company financial data, CSR/ESG, board details & contacts, CEO compensation, time series data, start-ups & fundings, bankruptcy, credit ratings, etc.

    • Industry Information

      An industry profile is a report or gathering of data centred on an area of business that outlines and describes the major components of that area. Profiles often provide an overview of the industry and may make projections about future trends. An important component of an industry profile is a list of related industries and major companies that dominate that product or service sector. Other essentials are an overview of the sector, financial information, recent developments, opportunities for advancement and leaders in the field.

      • Socio-economic Indicators

        This guide covers the resources that provide information including statistics on different socio-economic indicators like; Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Foreign Direct Investment (FDI), Household, Amenities & Assets, Infrastructure, Health, etc.

        Topic

        • Agriculture and Dairy
          This section provides information about the databases which cover information related to agriculture and dairies such as; product specific yield, volume, sales, etc. year wise and region wise statistics, related industry, and companies information, etc.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Alcoholic Beverages
          This section provides information on databases that cover the Alcoholic Beverages industry; the coverage includes industry-specific data and statistics, industry profile, market research, etc.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Annual Report
          An annual report is an annual publication providing information on the companies operations and financial condition to the shareholders and other interested people. The information may include the current activities, financial statements, their future etc

          Keywords: CMIE ProwessIQ, Thomson Reuters Eikon, Bloomberg, ISI Emerging Market, Dion Insight, ACE Knowledge and Research Portal
        • Automobile
          This section provides information on databases which covers automobile/automotive industry; the coverage includes industry specific data and statistics, industry profile, market research, etc.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports
        • Banking & Financial Services
          This section provides details about the databases which covers information on banking industry and banks such as statistics, industry reports, ratings, financial, etc.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Bankruptcy
          Bankruptcy is a court proceeding in which a judge and court trustee examine the assets and liabilities of individuals and businesses who can’t pay their bills and decide whether to discharge those debts so they are no longer legally required to pay them.

          Keywords: Bankruptcy Data, Kluwer Arbitration, Orbis Bank Focus, Bloomberg Law
        • Board Details & Contacts
          Board details and contact guide provides the detail of databases which covers information such as director’s name, date of appointment, titles of the directors and salary details of public and privately held companies.

          Keywords: Thomson Reuters Eikon, Bloomberg, LexisNexis Academic, NASSCOM Member Directory, ACE Knowledge & Research Portal
        • CEO Compensation
          The financial payments and non monetary benefits provided to high level management in exchange for their work on behalf of an organization. The types of employees that are typically paid with executive compensation packages.

          Keywords: Indian Boards, CMIE ProwessDx, Thomson Reuters Eikon, ACE Knowledge & Research Portal
        • Company Financial Data
          This section provides information on databases which covers current/historical information of the company and financial market data items. Financial information which covers, Balan sheet, Profit and loss, Ratios, Forex, etc.

          Keywords: ProwessIQ & Prowess dx, Bloomberg, Thomson Reuters Eikon, Compustat, ACE Knowledge & Research Portal, Capitaline Plus, Dion INSIGHT, EMIS Intelligence, LexisNexis Academic
        • Company SWOT Reports
          A SWOT analysis is a strategic planning tool that is used to assess the Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats involved in an organization, business or a project.

          Keywords: Euromonitor Passport, MarketLine Advantage, LexisNexis Academic, EMIS Intelligence
        • Consumer Product
          This section provides information on databases that cover the Consumer Product industry; the coverage includes industry-specific data and statistics, industry profile, market research, etc.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Credit Ratings
          An assessment of the creditworthiness of a borrower in general terms or with respect to a particular debt or financial obligation. A credit rating can be assigned to any entity that seeks to borrow money – an individual, corporation, state or province.

          Keywords: CMIE ProwessIQ, EMIS Intelligence, Capitaline Plus, Thomson Reuters Eikon, Bloomberg
        • CSR/ESG
          Corporate Social Responsibility implies a corporation's commitment to play a beneficial role in the environments, economies, and the societies in which they have an impact.

          Keywords: Corporate Social Responsibility, Bloomberg, Thomson Reuters Eikon, DataStream Worldscope, CMIE - ProwessIQ, CMIE Prowess dx, ACE Knowledge and Research Portal
        • Education
          The education industry consists of schools, colleges, universities and various private institutions. The education sector can be broadly classified into three categories; K-12: This includes the education offered from nursery to the twelfth grade.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Energy
          Power is one of the most critical components of infrastructure crucial for the economic growth of nations. Power sector is one of the most diversified sector in the world. Sources of power generation range from conventional sources.

          Keywords: Power, Coal, Oil and Gas
        • Foreign Direct Investment
          Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) is an investment made by a company or an individual in one country having business interests in another country, in the form of either establishing business operations or acquiring business assets in the other country.

          Keywords: Foreign Direct Investment
        • GDP, SDP and DDP
          GDP to measure the economic health of any country during one year. SDP is the total value of goods and services produced. DDP is defined as a measure during a given period of time, accounted without duplication.

          Keywords: Gross Domestic Product, State Domestic Product, District Domestic Product
        • Health Statistics
          Public health refers to "the science and art of preventing disease, prolonging life and promoting human health through organized efforts and informed choices of society, organizations, public and private, communities and individuals.

          Keywords: Health HR and Infrastructure, Population Distribution, Birth and Mortality Rates, Fertility Rates
        • Household, Amenities and Assets
          This guide provides detailed information and statistics on households by status, shelter & facilities such as footpath dweller, food availability, housing construction, residential houses, situation of agricultural households, houses etc.

          Keywords: Household, Amenities, Assets
        • Information Technology
          Information Technology (IT) industry consists of utilization of computing via hardware, software, services, and infrastructure to create, store, exchange, and leverage information in its various forms to accomplish any number of objectives.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Infrastructure
          This guide provides information about databases which covers comprehensive information on Infrastructure of various socio economic sectors such as; education, transportation, health, Housing, telecom, etc.

          Keywords: Infrastructure
        • IPO/Stock Market Data
          IPOs are often issued by smaller, younger companies seeking capital to expand, but they can also be done by large privately owned companies looking to become publicly traded.The stock market refers to the collection of markets and exchanges.

          Keywords: CB Insights, Dion INSIGHT, Capitaline Plus, ACE Knowledge & Research Portal
        • Media and Entertainment
          This section provides information on databases that cover the Media and Entertainment industry; the coverage includes industry-specific data and statistics, industry profile, market research, etc.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Mergers & Acquisitions
          Merger and Acquisition guide provides deals, M&A summary, details of sale of asset, acquisition of shares, target company details and acquirer company details. We can get India and International companies merger and acquisition data.

          Keywords: Venture Intelligence, CMIE Prowess dx, Thomson Reuters Eikon, LexisNexis Academic
        • Non-alcoholic Beverages
          This section provides information on databases that cover the Non-alcoholic Beverages industry; the coverage includes industry-specific data and statistics, industry profile, market research, etc.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Pharmaceutical
          The pharmaceutical industry consists the discovery, development, and manufacture of drugs and medications (pharmaceuticals) by the public and private organizations.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Start-ups & Funding
          A startup is a company that is in the first stage of its operations. These companies are often initially bankrolled by their entrepreneurial founders as they attempt to capitalize on developing a product or service.

          Keywords: Venture Intelligence, CB Insight
        • Telecommunication
          The telecommunication sector comprises of companies that make communication possible on a global scale whether through phone or through Internet. These companies create infrastructure that allows data to be sent anywhere in the world.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Textile
          This section provides information on databases that cover the Textile industry; the coverage includes industry-specific data and statistics, industry profile, market research, etc.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Transportation
          The transportation industry is associated with everything from municipal bus, subway and metro train systems, container ships, trucking, airliners, etc. which helps people and good moving from one place to another across city, state and countries.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics
        • Travel & Tourism
          Travel and tourism is a service industry that provides heritage, cultural, medical, business and sports tourism. The main objective of this sector is to develop and promote tourism, maintain competitiveness of nation as tourist destination.

          Keywords: Industry Information, Company Information, Market Research Reports, Data and Statistics

        Subject/Area

        • Communication
          The Communication Area is one of the youngest at the Institute. Since its inception, the Area has steadily increased its offerings to students and corporates.

        • Economics
          The Economics Area of IIMA is a vibrant centre of research and teaching on diverse topics spanning the worlds of theory and practice using cutting-edge research methods.

        • Finance & Accounting
          The Finance & Accounting area has a multi-disciplinary orientation. Faculty in the area have served on government committees and contributed significantly to several policy-making issues.

        • Human Resources Management
          The Human Resources Management (HRM) Area of IIMA currently comprises of faculty members drawn from different disciplines and has interests in Areas of HRM, Industrial Relations, Labour Economics, Labour Legislation and Industrial Sociology.

        • Information Systems
          The Information Systems (IS) was set up to respond to the need for research in computer applications in management. Starting in an environment that was largely unaware of the potential benefits of computerization (in the 1970s);

        • Marketing
          Marketing Area delivers marketing concept, theories, principles and content to PGP, PGPX , and FPM & FDP programmes.

        • Organizational Behaviour
          The Organizational Behaviour (OB) area is internationally recognized for its teaching and research.

        • Production & Quantitative Methods
          The principal focus of the Production & Quantitative Methods (P&QM) area is to equip future managers with the necessary tools and techniques that would enable them to take evidence and fact-based decisions in improving business performance.

        • Public Systems Group
          The Public Systems Group (PSG) at IIMA is an interdisciplinary group with a focus on the generation and dissemination of knowledge concerning the public sphere, the performance and management of public systems, the formulation.

        • Strategy
          The area's primary focus is on organizational strategy and the functions of the chief executive.